

(859) 455-7430 | www.FHANA.com

## FHANA Member Council Minutes: February 7th, 2024

## Present:

Marg Laude – Mountain Time Friesian Chapter (Chairperson) Scott Kelnhofer - Friesian Horse Association of the Mid-East (Vice Chairperson) Jack Vanderkooy – Ontario Friesian Horse Association LoriAnn Thwing – Northern Michigan Friesian Club Jamie Cesear – Northeast Friesian Horse Club Friesian Horse Club of Southern California Henk Sytsma - Central California Friesian Horse Club Carrie Blair – Ohio Valley Friesian Horse Association Karen Rosenburg – South Central Friesian Horse Association Fernando Horwitz – Great Lakes Friesian Horse Association Inge De Hann – Atlantic Canada Friesian Horse Association Mark McGowan – Lone Star Friesian Horse Club Klazien Sietzema – Alberta Friesian Horse Association Janice VerMerris – Michigan Friesian Horse Club Deborah Horsch – Friesian Horse Association of Oklahoma Beverly McGowan – North American Spanish Friesian Horse Association FHANA Board Liaison – Erin Miley Angie DePuydt - Administrator Caron Osborn – Administrator

## Absent:

Henk Sytsma – Central California Friesian Horse Club Joe Michielli – Cascadia Friesian Horse Club Lauren McDonald – Pacific Friesian Horse Club Pam Groom – Florida Friesian Horse Club

Please refer to the meeting recording for complete/detailed comments: <u>FMC Meeting Recording - 07</u> <u>FEB 24.</u>

1. **Opening Remarks & Announcement of Guests**. Mr. Laude called the meeting to order at 8:02 PM EDT. He thanked the council for their support and contributions and announced that he would not be seeking re-election to the position of FMC Chairperson due to personal commitments.

2. **Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes**. Mr. Kelnhofer motioned to approve the previous meeting minutes, and Mr. McGowan seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

3. **FHANA Board Updates**. Ms. Miley provided an update from the FHANA Board. The Board felt there were many good ideas in the committee staffing recommendations document the FMC proposed. The Rules and Regulations Committee will be tasked to explore the implementation of these ideas. The website will have translation capability in March or April. The 2024 Inspection schedule has been approved. The



(859) 455-7430 | www.FHANA.com

board of directors' election is complete, and the new officers are Erin Miley, Katie Wenger, and Beverly McGowan. The online AGM auction begins February 14<sup>th</sup>.

4. **FHANA Chapter Financial Responsibilities**. Mr. Horwitz inquired how the council feels about FHANA chapters having no financial oversight and what measures could be implemented to safeguard against the misappropriation of chapter funds. After discussion, the council agreed Ms. Jeffcoat will develop a proposed revision to the FHANA chapter application document that includes advice on prudent measures to guard against fraud or misappropriation of chapter funds. Mr. Kelnhofer and Mr. Horwitz offered their assistance to Ms. Jeffcoat in completing this action.

5. Elections for FMC Chair and Vice Chair. Mr. Vanderkooy was the only representative nominated for the position of chairperson. He has accepted his nomination and will serve a one-year term as chair. Mr. Kelnhofer was the only representative nominated for vice chairperson. He has accepted his nomination and will serve a one-year term as vice chairperson.

6. **Roundtable Discussion.** Ms. DePuydt reminded the council that chapter renewals are due by March 31<sup>st</sup>. She also informed the council that there is an option to store the FMC meeting recordings in Zoom's cloud and generate a hyperlink to the recording. This option would save the administrators time, as it often takes significant time to download the recordings from Zoom and upload them to the FMC Google Drive. The council agreed to try accessing the recording from Zoom to see if it works well.

7. Next Meeting Date. The next FMC meeting will occur on Wednesday, March 13th, 2023, at 8 PM EDT.

8. **Motion to Adjourn.** Mr. McGowan motioned to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 8:42 PM EDT.

Minutes presented by Angie DePuydt